Back to top

2012 CoMSEF Impact Award Nomination Solicitation

CoMSEF is soliciting nominations for the 2012 CoMSEF Impact Award, which recognizes outstanding research in computational molecular science and engineering by a member of CoMSEF. Previous award winners include Ed Maginn (2009), David Sholl (2010), and Bernhardt Trout (2011).

Nominees for the 2012 award may hold positions in academia, industry, or a national laboratory, and must be within 15 years of completion of their highest degree. Candidates earning PhD degrees from 1997 onwards are award eligible. Nominees must be current members of CoMSEF.

A nomination package consisting of the nominee’s CV, a nomination letter and two supporting letters of recommendation should be sent as a single file in pdf format to the CoMSEF Chair, Kristen Fichthorn ( The nomination should provide a clear statement as to the impact of the nominees work on the field and an award citation of 25 words or less, beginning with the word 'For'. Self-nominations are discouraged. The deadline for receipt of nominations will be May 1st for the 2012 award with the recipient being announced prior to the Fall AIChE meeting.

Please note that re-nomination of candidates is encouraged. It is recommended but not required that the contents of the nomination package be updated each year; while supporting letters may be re-used, the nomination form must have current dates.

The award recipient will be chosen based on the overall strength of the research accomplishments of the candidates by an ad hoc selection committee consisting of the current CoMSEF chair, the CoMSEF vice-chair and two representatives drawn from related organizations (e.g., area 1a committee, CACHE trustees).

Please contact Kristen Fichthorn ( with any questions regarding eligibility or the nomination process.