Back to top


New Liaison Directors

Two new CoMSEF Liaison Directors were recently elected and announced at the CoMSEF meeting in Salt Lake City:

  • Ed Maginn, University of Notre Dame - homepage
  • Brian Peterson, Air Products & Chemicals, Inc. - bio

The role of liaison director includes the following responsibilities:

  1. Be the main contacts with other organizations (groups,
    divisions, forums, and societies). Contact assignments shall be
    assigned by the Chair.
  2. Coordinate programming with other organizations, under the leadership of the Vice Chair.
  3. Communicate and advocate CoMSEF activities with other organizations.
  4. As members of the Executive Committee, aid the officers in developing and carrying out planning.


Keith Gubbins Festschrift

The special issue of the Journal of Physical Chemistry C honoring Keith Gubbins is now available online: link

Note that the current CoMSEF newsletter includes a tribute to Prof. Gubbins written by Ken Cox and that Prof. Gubbins will be honoried at two sessions during the AIChE annual meeting in Salt Lake City:

Tuesday, November 6, 2007

8:30 AM-11:00 AM
#179 - Keith Gubbins 70th Birthday Celebration I (21001)

3:30 PM-6:00 PM
#302 - Keith Gubbins 70th Birthday Celebration II (21002)

2007 Liaison Directors Election

It's time to elect 2 new Liaison Directors for the CoMSEF executive committee. This election will fill the positions of Sanat Mohanty and Ken Cox who have completed their terms.

CoMSEF members can access the ballot here (login required): link

New Officers for 2006-2008

The elections concluded in early November. Thanks to everyone who ran and who voted! As a result, the new members of the executive committee are:

Vice Chair and Program Chair: Clare McCabe, Vanderbilt
Secretary-Treasurer: Joe Golab, Innovene
Liaison Director: Perla Balbuena, Texas A&M
Liaison Director: Roland Faller, UC Davis

Thanks to previous officers whose terms have concluded.

Also, by appointment by the CoMSEF chair, two other new officers are:

Vice Chair for Communications: Jonathan Moore, Dow Chemical
Vice Chair for Membership: Dave Kofke, SUNY-Buffalo

A full listing of the current CoMSEF executive committee is available here.